I picked up this record on the same visit to the East Vancouver, WA Goodwill that I bought the previously posted accordion record.

And, like that record, I seldom buy these church produced band/choir LPs. I do check them out from time to time to see if there’s anything funny, weird or inappropriate for that kind of music. You know what I mean. A way-too grown-up song sung by children – ala Langley School Music Project, etc. – Or maybe something schmaltzy and maudlin. But I think most of those kinds of records have really square music directors, not even letting the poor kids do one single rock and or roll song. It’s the devil’s music, don’t you know.

This one appealed to me though, as it’s all contemporary song hits, via 1972 and shortly before. There’s some Bacharach and David, some Carpenters and even a Leonard Cohen song, for Christ’s sake!

It’s from a Catholic girl’s school from Portland Oregon. I did a little searching for the album and school and – lo and behold – see that friend and WFMU radio host Tony Coulter covered this on WFMU’s Beware of the Blog in two thousand and eleven. You can read about it here (in fact, I snatched the scans from there, as I am presently unable to take acceptable LP photos at the moment).

It’s a fun album. Not quite as charming and kooky as the aforementioned Langly School album, but still lots of fun. There’s some tremulous but spirited solo performances and some fun but somewhat stiff multi-voiced takes on hit songs of the 70s. I don’t know where they got their drummer but he just goes apeshit in a few places. I like to imagine they borrowed some hot-stuff percussionist from the boy’s school and his hormones just went wild being around all the girls. His frantic drumming at the start of Put Your Hand In The Hand can’t be missed.

Come and get it.